BJD fields Soumya Ranjan Patnaik, Ananta Narayan Jena in Assembly Polls


NF Bureau:  As expected, the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) has fielded Rajya Sabha MP Soumya Ranjan Patnaik from Khandapada Assembly seat, denying ticket to sitting MLA Anubhav Patnaik, who had defeated the former by just 601 votes in 2014 polls.

Pallahara MLA Mahesh Sahu has been fielded from Dhenkanal Lok Sabha seat, while Chandrani Murmu got the ticket to contest from Keonjhar Lok Sabha seat. With this, BJD has fielded 7 women in its list of 21 Lok Sabha seats.

Former Bhubaneswar Mayor Ananta Narayan Jena finally managed to get an assembly ticket from Bhubaneswar Central. Sitting MLA Priyadarshi Mishra could not get a ticket from Bhubaneswar North. Sushant Rout replaced him.

Influential BJD leader Pranab Prakash Das will contest from his seat, Jajpur. However, Akash Dasnayak has been replaced with Ashok Bal in Korei.

In total, BJD has so far announced all 21 Lok Sabha and 144 Assembly candidates. Candidates for Champua, Kendrapara and Baripada have not been announced yet.

Lok Sabha:

Keonjhar – Chandrani Murmu
Dhenkanal – Mahesh Sahu


Khandapada – Soumya Ranjan Patnaik
Jajpur – Pranab Prakash Das
Bhubaneswar Central – Ananta Narayan Jena
Bhubaneswar North – Sushant Rout
Korei – Ashok Bala
Athamallick – Ramesh Sai
Palalahara – Mukesh Pal

Nation First News

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.