BJD seeks disqualification of 5 MLAs who joined BJP


NF Bureau: The ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) has filed a petition before Odisha Assembly Speaker Pradip Amat, seeking disqualification of 5 MLAs, who had recently joined the BJP under the anti-defection law.

BJD leader Amar Satpathy filed the petition against Debraj Mohanty (Aska), Sukant Nayak (Nilgiri), Purnachandra Nayak (Daspalla), Basanti Mallick (Mohana) & Trinath Gamanga (Gunupur).

Speaker Amat has sought the opinion of experts on this matter and may pronounce his verdict later today.

BJD had questioned the MLAs’ decision to continue in their post even after joining another party. “They should have resigned from the Assembly before or after joining another party,” the party said.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.