By-elections to be held for 6 Rajya Sabha seats, including 3 from Odisha


Nation First News: The Election Commission (EC) has announced dates for by-elections into 6 Rajya Sabha seats in Odisha, Gujarat and Bihar. The polling will be held on July 5, 2019 if needed. 3 from Odisha, 2 from Gujarat and 1 seat from Bihar will have bypolls.

Although 4 Rajya Sabha seats fell vacant in Odisha as those MPs got elected to Lok Sabha and Assembly in the recently-concluded polls, the EC did not consider the seat vacated by Kendrapara MP Anubhav Mohanty as he had less than a year left in his tenure. Other seats vacated by Dr. Achyuta Samanta, Soumya Ranjan Patnaik and Pratap Deb would go to bypolls.

As the ruling BJD has 112 MLAs in the 147(146)-member House, it would have no difficulty to win all 3 seats.

Rajya Sabha bypolls will also be held in seats vacated by Amit Shah and Smriti Irani (Gujarat) and Ravi Shankar Prasad (Bihar). EAM Dr. Sa Jaishankar and Union Minister Ram Vilas Paswan are set to be nominated from 2 of these seats.

The official notification for the Rajya Sabha by-elections will be out on June 18, while last date for filing the nominations will be June 25.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.