Mohana MLA Basanti Mallick resigns from BJD; joins BJP


NF Bureau:  The exodus from the ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) continued unabated as sitting MLA from Mohana (Gajapati), Basanti Mallick reisgned from the party after she was denied a ticket this time.

BJD has fielded Purnabasi Nayak, another woman candidate from this seat. Mohana falls under Berhampur Lok Sabha constituency. Basanti had defeated Congress candidate Dasarathi Gamango by a narrow margin of 115 votes in 2014 polls. BJP also has strong presence in this seat.

2014 Polls Vote Breakup:

Basanti Mallick (BJD) – 43,006
Dasarathi Gamango (Congress) – 42,891
Bharat Paik (BJP) – 39,625

Update: Basanti Mallick joined BJP later in the night.

Nation First News

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.