Odisha sends 7 Women MPs to Lok Sabha


NFN Bureau:  For the first time, Odisha has sent 7 Women MPs – 33% of total number of seats (21) to Lok Sabha, thanks to efforts of BJD President and Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik to lead from the front in women empowerment. BJP too contributed to this noble gesture by fielding 3 women candidates.

BJD had fielded 7 women in Lok Sabha polls, as promised earlier. 5 of them emerged victorius – Pramila Bisoyi (Aska), Manjulata Mandal (Bhadrak), Rajashree Mallick (Jagatsinghpur), Sarmistha Sethi (Jajpur), Chandrani Murmu (Keonjhar). Kaushalya Hikaka (Koraput) and Sunita Biswal (Sundargarh) lost the polls.

BJP had fielded 3 women candidates. While Aparajita Sarangi (Bhubaneswar) and Sangeeta Singh Deo (Bolangir) won their seats, Anita Subhadarshini (Aska) lost the electoral battle against another woman candidate.

West Bengal has elected 10 Women MPs (TMC 8 + BJP 2) to this Lok Sabha while their strength remains 42. Odisha has done far better job by ensuring victory of 7 Women MPs.

Nation First News

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.