Rajya Sabha: Amar, Ashwini to have 5-year Term; Sasmit 3 Years


Nation First News: The ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) yet again surprised the political pundits by sacrificing more in Rajya Sabha bypolls, as it opted for a three-year term for its own candidate Dr. Sasmit Patra while giving 5-year term to BJP nominee Ashwini Vaishnaw.

All 3 candidates filed the nomination papers today at the Odisha Legislative Assembly. Dr. Amar Patnaik filed the nomination forthe seat vacated by Dr. Achyuta Samanta. Ashwini Vaishnaw filed the nomination for the post vacated by Soumya Ranjan Patnaik. Both will continue in Rajya Sabha till 2024.

Dr. Sasmit Patra filed the nomination papers for the seat vacated by Pratap Deb. He will continue in Rajya Sabha till 2022. During the filing of nomination of BJD candidates, CM Naveen Patnaik was present. When Ashwini Vaishnaw filed the nomination papers, leaders from both BJP and BJD were present, including MLAs and Ministers.

Also Read:

Rajya Sabha Bypolls: BJD nominates Amar Patnaik, Sasmit Patra; backs BJP Nominee Ashwini Baishnab

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.