High on Josh

First session of 17th Lok Sabha begins today; Members take oath

0 236

Nation First News:  The first session of the 17th Lok Sabha has begun on Monday with Prime Minister Narendra Modi taking the oath as the Lok Sabha member followed by his council of ministers and the newly elected members to the Lower House of Parliament.

The oath of House was administered by pro-tem Speaker Virendra Kumar, who was sworn-in by President Ram Nath Kovind earlier today.

While, the Union Minister Smriti Irani, who defeated Congress President Rahul Gandhi in Amethi, received the longest applause when she took oath, Rahul Gandhi skipped the first day of first session of the 17th Parliament today.

Reportedly, the Speaker of the Lower House of Parliament will be elected on June 19 and the Union budget will be presented on July 5. After 30 Lok Sabha sittings and 27 Rajya Sabha sittings, session will end on 26 July.

error: Content is protected !!